Rough Draft Video

A message I want to make clear about my rough draft is that ONLY the audio from the interviews will be used. In place of the visual for my final project I will have various soccer clips of the people I interviewed as well as myself. As for the opening scene made in the second tutorial due last week, with the words “Leadership, Team Work, and Fitness” all appear in the visual from left to right about four seconds apart. In the background visual, I am passing the soccer ball around with Evan and Nick. I believe that the slow appearance of the visuals combined with the consistent action in the background creates an appealing thirty seconds to drag the listeners in. I wanted to take the same four questions that were soccer related and compare the different responses to the questions. Firstly, I wanted the listeners to learn a little about the person I was interviewing, so my lead-off question was asking about the interviewee’s background. Secondly, in order for the interview to be interesting something different and unique has to come up, which amounted to my second question wondering what the interviewee’s greatest soccer highlight was. Then, I asked the interviewee’s about the specific position they played and what responsibilities that the position had on the soccer field. Finally, I needed to pull on some heart strings in some way to add an emotional factor. Which led to my final question simply being, “Why do you love soccer,” that the interviewee’s would respond with how soccer has been there gateway to relieve stress, while at the same time thoroughly enjoying themselves. I decided to name my video, “Soccer Connects,” after the connections the sport of soccer allows people to make. Such as having a casual pick-up game and making a few friends from it, or for others, as is for my Father and I, soccer is a way of connecting on a deeper level.

2 thoughts on “Rough Draft Video

  1. Hey Nik,
    Let me start off by first saying I think your topic for your story is a great one, but your final story will need some work. After reading your post, I was able to understand how you want your final video to look. I think adding some clips of you and your friends playing soccer will look great and really pull the audience into your story. For your final story I would keep in mind that it is a “story.” Your rough draft is just you interviewing soccer players about why they love it and such, but that is not necessarily a story. I think a great way for you to tie it into a story would to talk a little about yourself, and at the end have someway of closing it and capturing the audience. Also, I would shorten up your interviews of each person. I got really bored after the first interview, because you asked the same questions in the exact same order and almost every interviewee had a similar answer which did not make it interesting. By adding the things you talked about for your final video, shortening it up and adding something about you to tie the story together will make your final video look great and I think you will have an awesome story.

  2. Hey Nikolas, I really like what you have so far from your video draft, because you have good interviews it will allow you to make a complete final draft. That being said I also really enjoyed the theme of your entire story. I think because you like soccer so much, it makes it easier to talk about it, which will benefit you in your final project. Some suggestions for your final project would be to first, use the questions of why they liked soccer, and how they got started, because those are the questions that you can use to fit a story around. Second, make sure that you make the theme of the story relevant in the intro; it could be you speaking about why soccer is important for 30 seconds in the beginning. Just make it so the audience has an idea what your story is going to be about as soon as they start watching. That’s all I got, have a nice day!

Leave a Reply

