Draft Logo

Nik-Gray-Draft-Logo

 

I believe that simplicity is the key to efficiency and success. Even as a baby I was known by family as an “old soul,” based off of my demeanor I carried that resembled an old wise man. In relation to the logo that I chose for my About Me, triangles are the most powerful, structurally sound, and simple shapes there are in the world.  They are three points with three lines that meet, forming a tripod that is the most stable and reliable stance there is, but also extremely simple. This logo describes my personality perfectly. I am a simple man, I am straightforward and to the point; or as others would say, very “black and white.” Lack of color represents my black and white outlook upon life. It is straightforward and makes communication with others easier because there is no confusion with complexity. The layering of triangles is used to embody my endeavor for the obtainment of knowledge on a deeper level. Even though I am a simple man, does not mean I am a shallow man. Majority of my time is spent analyzing others actions and remarks and picking them a part to understand why the person said what they said or did what they did. I am a deep, powerful thinker and I believe that the logo of the black and white triangles layering each other is the best way to express myself in the form of a logo. At the focal point of the logo lies my initials, “NDG,” because as this project implies, it is about me. Beneath the logo I chose to insert a small phrase, because I believe almost every logo needs a hook or a phrase to drag people in, and that slogan is, “The power of simplicity.” Which comes back full circle to connect with the logo itself. Since triangles are the most powerful and structurally-sound shape, but at the same time only being three points and three lines the slogan fits the logo and myself absolutely perfectly.

4 thoughts on “Draft Logo

  1. Nik,
    I am a big fan of your logo and found that it matches the idea that you were going for tremendously. Your logo certainly demonstrates simplicity with a deeper meaning which is exactly what it seems that you were going for. I really like the fact that when you look at the triangles it looks as if they’re combined as one large triangle with layers within, however perhaps you could change the thickness of the inner most triangle and make it thinner just to add to that perception. I appreciate how the font of your letters is not so simple and makes it seem as if your logo is truly professional. The slanting arch of the font is also a nice touch that adds to the effectiveness of your design. Overall I think you did a very good job of achieving what it is that you were attempting to do, it was difficult for me to find anything to critique.

    -Kyle

  2. Your logo is good because it is right to the point but isn’t boring. You clearly wanted it to be simple and to represent yourself and it communicated this message well. Although it shows small use of editing tools in Illustrator, I would say it is publishable and is eye catching because of the triangular shape. As far as what aspects would possibly be changed, all I would have to say would be that maybe some color could help it stand out more. One suggestion would be using solid triangles made of different colors and still having the simple look. I can definitely recognize the unity in the logo, because of the triangles inside of each other, and it is symmetrical. I also can tell how this really applies to your “about me” topic because of the description, and I think that the logo is a good representation. Overall I think that the choice of the triangles, the simplicity quote, and the initials convey the message.

  3. I like this logo a lot. I really like the shape of the logo such as the triangle. I like how it fits perfectly within the logo and it looks really professional and crisp. One thing that I think I would change if I were are the initials in the middle of the triangle. I feel like they are so small and kind of unnoticeable. I think that if you were to make them larger, it would point out that they are your initials, (or that they are important), by just looking at the logo instead of having to read the description. Another thing that I think I would change is the shaping of the words underneath the triangle that say “the power of simplicity”. Those words seem like they maybe shouldn’t be as curved as they are or in a different font or changed in some way because everything else is sharp and crisp and then those letters are sort of just there in that rounded shape. I still think that the logo looks really good, but since I had to find something that i would change, i would maybe start with that.

  4. If I were to give you suggestions for changes being made to your logo I would get rid of the sentence below your logo. While the sentence explains the story behind the logo it takes away from the simplicity of the logo itself. Also if I were doing your logo I would add some effects that make the triangle seem hollow or like it isn’t flat. I like your idea having your initials in the middle and the font is cool because it isn’t as straight forward as the rest of the logo. I enjoyed the idea of having a very simple logo however I think it could use more meaning behind the logo rather than just the fact that you view the world in a very black and white way.

Leave a Reply

